NTAs 2020: Loose women put on a united front in an all red ensemble

NTAs 2020: Loose Women stars wear red as they cross their fingers for Best Daytime Show win over long-time rivals This Morning

Stars of the small screen were let loose for the National Television Awards at London’s 02 Arena on Tuesday. 

And ITV’s Loose Women put on a united front in an all red ensemble as they walked the red carpet in hopes of winning the Best Daytime Show award over rivals This Morning.

The outspoken ladies are not shy of making a statement and wore all black for the national television awards last year – claiming it helped them all overcome the red carpet jitters. 

 Ladies in red: ITV’s Loose Women put on a united front in an all rouge ensemble as they walked down the red carpet at the National Television Awards at London ‘s 02 Arena on Tuesday

This year the ladies stunned in red as they laughed their into the NTAs by double decker bus and boat.

Nadia Sawalha took to Instagram to reveal the panel had suffered a wardrobe mix up after panellist and actress Kéllé Bryan, who was wearing a silver dress to the awards as part of Hollyoaks, left her matching red dress on the bus. 

Following the run up to Tuesday’s awards the show’s panelists were branded ‘beggy’ by some after Carol Mcgiffin, 59, and Denise Welch, 61, dressed up as Lady Gaga and Cheryl in bid to receive the gong for Best Daytime Show.

As well as the videos, fellow host Brenda Edwards, 51, loudly sang to remind fans that there was only one week to go until the hotly-anticipated awards show.

All aboard Loose Women: Andrea McLean, 50, Saira Khan, 49, Nadia Sawalha, 55, Kaye Adams, 57, Brenda Edwards, 51, Coleen Nolan, 54, Denise Welch, 61, make bus trip 

Winning colour: Andrea McLean, 50, and Coleen Nolan, 54, look sensational in floaty rouge gowns as they leave the ITV studios

However viewers weren’t impressed with the videos or singing, with one branding the promotional clips ‘cringe’, while another said the show would definitely be losing votes now.

Fellow ITV breakfast show This Morning, fronted by Holly Willoughby and Phillip Schofield, has won the award for nine-years in a row, with Loose Women’s last win in 2010.  

The National Television Awards is set to be hosted by David Walliams for the first time.

In February Dermot O’ Leary announced that he would be stepping down after 10 years presenting the show, having himself taken over from Sir Trevor McDonald.

School trip: The outspoken ladies made the trip from the White City ITV studios in west London to the O2 arena in south London – singing all the way 

Radiant red: Andrea McLean, 50, looked beautiful in a lace embroidered bodice and long-train A-line skirt – seen boarding the bus to the awards (right)

One of the biggest nights in the TV calendar, stars from a range of shows don their most glamorous looks to attend the lavish ceremony.

The most hotly contested category is Drama, which will see Killing Eve, Peaky Blinders, Line Of Duty, Call The Midwife and Casualty go head-to-head for the top prize. 

Many of these show’s stars are also set to battle it out in Serial Drama Performance, which consists of Cillian Murphy (Peaky Blinders), Idris Elba (Luther), Jodie Comer (Killing Eve), Suranne Jones (Gentleman Jack) and Michael Stevenson (Casualty).

Peaky Blinders has continued to be a huge success with its fifth series earning the show’s highest ratings ever, and writer Stephen Knight has already confirmed that production is underway for series six.

Off to the chippy: The stars made an impromptu trip to the chip shop while Andrea McLean waited on the bus (right). Coleen Nolan and Saira Khan pose for a selfie

While the Big Four soaps will all compete for the Serial Drama Award, for Newcomer the nominees are Jurrell Carter (Nate Robinson in Emmerdale), Peter Ash (Paul Foreman in Coronation Street), Max Bowden (Ben Mitchell in EastEnders) and Imran Adams (Mitchell Deveraux in Hollyoaks).

Love Island has been nominated for Challenge Show alongside The Circle, The Apprentice, MasterChef and The Great British Bake Off.

Some of the nation’s most popular daytime shows are facing off against each other for the Live Magazine Show award.

This Morning is up for the gong yet again, having previously won nine years in a row.

They will go head-to-head with Loose Women, Good Morning Britain and Sunday Brunch.

I’m A Celebrity is nominated for the Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award along with The Graham Norton Show, The Chase and RuPaul’s Drag Race UK.

Off we go: Loose Women prepare for one of the biggest nights in the TV calendar, stars from a rage of shows don their most glamorous looks to attend the lavish ceremony


New Drama


A Confession

Cleaning Up

Gentleman Jack

The Capture


After Life


Derry Girls

Sex Education

Mrs Brown’s Boys

TV Presenter

Ant and Dec

Graham Norton

Bradley Walsh

Holly Willoughby 

Phillip Schofield 


Jesy Nelson: Odd One Out



Paul O’ Grady: For The Love of Dogs

Gordon, Gino and Fred Road Trip 


Line Of Duty

Peaky Blinders

Call The Midwife

Killing Eve


Challenge Show

Love Island 

The Circle 

The Apprentice 


The Great British Bake Off

Live Magazine Show

This Morning

Loose Women

Good Morning Britain

Sunday Brunch  

Drama Performance

Cillian Murphy (Peaky Blinders)

Idris Elba (Luther)

Jodie Comer (Killing Eve)

Suranne Jones (Gentleman Jack)

Michael Stevenson (Casualty)

TV Judge

David Walliams (Britain’s Got Talent)

Simon Cowell (BGT/ X Factor)

Sir Tom Jones (The Voice UK)

will.i.am (The Voice UK/The Voice Kids)

RuPaul (RuPaul’s Drag Race UK)

Serial Drama Performance 

Katie McGlynn (Sinead Tinker in Coronation Street)

Danny Dyer (Mick Carter in EastEnders)

Danny Miller (Aaron Dingle in Emmerdale)

Gregory Finnegan (James Nightingale in Hollyoaks) 

Serial Drama


Coronation Street



Talent Show 

Strictly Come Dancing

Britain’s Got Talent 

Dancing On Ice

The Voice UK 

Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award

I’m A Celebrity

The Graham Norton Show

The Chase

RuPaul’s Drag Race UK 


Jurrell Carter (Nate Robinson in Emmerdale)

Peter Ash (Paul Foreman in Coronation Street)

Max Bowden (Ben Mitchell in EastEnders)

Imran Adams (Mitchell Deveraux in Hollyoaks) 

Source: Read Full Article