New Sony Xperia will be revealed tomorrow and one vital upgrade has just been confirmed

Sony Xperia fans might want to set an early alarm for tomorrow. The Japanese technology firm has a major announcement scheduled for 8am BST with an all-new smartphone set to be revealed.

Although Sony has officially confirmed the big reveal, via a dedicated YouTube page, details about the phone, thought to be a reboot of the Xperia 5, remain under wraps.

The Xperia 1 II and Xperia 10 II have both been unveiled this year so it seems almost certain the Xperia 5 II is next on the list.

Full confirmation and specs will be revealed tomorrow. However, a new certification from China’s telecommunications regulatory office has revealed a key feature coming to this new phone as it will get access to 5G.

That means owners will be able to surf the web, download files and stream content at over 300Mbps when away from fixed-line broadband.

The Xperia 1 II already features 5G and it’s nice to see Sony continuing to push this next-generation network in what should be a cheaper smartphone.

Along with confirming 5G, pictures have also been posted on the regulator’s website which may reveal a few features coming to the Xperia 5 II.

The photos appear to show a device with a triple rear camera and Sony’s trademark 21:9 notch-less display.

There’s also no sign of a fingerprint scanner which suggest this device will continue to feature a sensor on the side of the case.

Finally, it seems there’s an extra button just above the camera shutter although we’ll have to wait for Sony’s announcement to discover exactly what this will do.

Of course, with just a few hours to go until Sony reveals all there’s plenty of other rumours about the new Xperia 5 II with GSMArena stating this phone will include a 6.1-inch 120Hz display, Snapdragon 865 processor and include an 18W power brick for faster charging.

Of course, these are only rumours, so it’s worth taking it all with a generous pinch of salt. Fortunately, there’s not long to wait before we find out whether there’s any truth in these reports. Sony will hold its new Xperia product announcement on September 17, 2020 at 8am GMT / 9am CEST / 3am ET and 12am PT. Express.co.uk will have all of the latest information, so stay tuned.

Source: Read Full Article