The Mezzotint: Release date, cast and plot

THE upcoming BBC Two drama The Mezzotint is set to leave you hiding under your covers this Christmas.

Set in 1920s, the nail-biting 30-minute drama is based on the original ghost story by MR James which was published in 1904. 

When is The Mezzotint out?

The Mezzotint will make its debut on BBC Two this Christmas Eve.

Subtitled A Ghost Story For Christmas, the one-off special is scheduled for 10.30pm

Director, Mark Gatiss, said: "It's delightful to be bringing a little seasonal unease to the nation once again.

"This famous MR James story is just the ticket. We've assembled a top-notch team to bring this eerie mystery and a certain enigmatic old picture to life."

Who is in the cast of The Mezzotint?

James Bond actor Rory Kinnear takes the lead as Mr Williams. Rory recently played a neo Nazi in the BBC1 drama Ridley Road.

Downton Abbey Star Robert Bathurst played the role of Garwood, a friend of Edward.

Doctor Who actor Frances Barber who will appear as Mrs Ambrigail, a fountain of knowledge and gossip.

Poldark’s actor John Hopkins and Roadkill actress Emma Cuniifie will also star in the Christmas special. 

Also starring in the drama is Four Weddings and a Funeral star Nikesh Patel, and Tommaso Di Vincenzo from Dracula.

Most read in tv


I'm A Celeb fans spot 'fuming' Frankie Bridge as she's dealt huge snub


Brutal moment Phil Schofield asks Matt Hancock if DYSLEXIA led him to cheat

Queen of Kyle

Jeremy Kyle guest Julie King is unrecognisable four years after final show


Strictly's AJ Odudu cosies up to Kai Widdrington as romance 'confirmed'

What is The Mezzotint about?

The Mezzotint is a chilling ghost story set in the heart of an old English college in 1922.

Edward Williams, a curator at a university art museum, receives an old engraving from an unknown country house.

Over time viewers will learn that the engraving is not what it first seemed to be.

Edward then finds himself haunted by the events of his past which leaves his sanity on the line.

He makes a shocking discovery about his lineage that will haunt him forever.

The original ghost story by James was published in 1904, within a collection called Ghost Stories of an Antiquary.

Mr James is best remembered for his ghost stories and his first collection was made up of eight short stories.

He went on to publish More Ghost Stories, A Thin Ghost and Others, A Warning to the Curious and Other Ghost Stories, and Wailing Well.

    Source: Read Full Article