What does the winner of MasterChef 2021 get? – The Sun

COOKERY show MasterChef UK 2021's winner has been confirmed, with Tom Rhodes the latest success story from the long running series.

Here is a look at what previous winners have done since they collected their MasterChef crown.

What does the MasterChef 2021 winner get?

The winner is always awarded the coveted MasterChef trophy.

But it is the recognition, prestige and exposure that is the main appeal of winning the contest.

In the past finalists have gone to open their own restaurants or have launched a culinary career.

The website says: “MasterChef sets out to find the UK’s best amateur cook.

“A cook whose talent and passion could transform their life.

“It’s a life-changing journey for many, but only one will be crowned the nation’s MasterChef.”

What does the trophy look like?

The MasterChef trophy is the show’s logo; the letter ‘m’ surrounded by two circles.

It is made of polished aluminium and mounted on a tiered aluminium base.

Makers of the award, Gaudio, say on their website: “The MasterChef trophy is instantly recognisable and is treasured by winners.”

The trophy was redesigned in 2012.

What have past winners done?

  • Series 1, 2005 – Thomasina Miers. Became the co-founder of Wahaca chain of Mexican Restaurants.
  • Series 2, 2006 – Peter Bayless. Published My Father Could Only Boil Cornflakes and teaches at various cookery schools.
  • Series 3, 2007 – Steve Wallis. Became the group head of culinery innovation at Two Sisters Food Group.
  • Series 4, 2008 – James Nathan. Opened The Green Room restaurant in Cornwall and took over  St Enodoc Hotel in Rock.
  • Series 5, 2009 – Mat Follas. Wrote two cookery books and opened Bramble Cafe and Deli in Dorset with his wife.
  • Series 6, 2010 – Dhruv Baker. Wrote Spice: Layers of Flavour and children's cookery book Spice Story, and became co-owner of Earlsfield Kitchen and The Jolly Gardeners in Wandsworth
  • Series 7, 2011 – Tim Anderson. Opened Nanban Japanese restaurant in Shoreditch and  wrote Nanban: Japanese Soul Food.
  • Series 8, 2012 – Shelina Permalloo. Wrote Sunshine On A Plate and opened Lakaz Maman restaurant in Southampton.
  • Series 9, 2013 – Natalie Coleman. She has written her own cookbook and is Head Chef at The Winchmore pub in London.
  • Series 10, 2014 – Ping Coombes. She published her first book in 2016 and is a culinary partner and executive chef.
  • Series 11, 2015 – Simon Wood. Has opened his first restaurant, called Wood, in Manchester’s First Street.
  • Series 12, 2016 – Jane Devonshire. Jane is currently writing her debut cookbook.
  • Series 13, 2017 – Dr Saliha Mahmood Ahmed. Runs her own website where she hosts a seasoned cookery school.
  • Series 14, 2018 – Kenny Tutt. He is opening a new two-floor restaurant in his home town – Worthing, which is expected to open in May.
  • Series 15 – Irini Tzortzoglou, 2019. Irini has published her first book, Under the Olive Tree: Recipes from my Greek Kitchen.
  • Series 16 – Thomas Frake, 2020. Thomas has been announced as a guest at Fantastic Food Festivals for 2021.

Who won MasterChef 2021?

The MasterChef 2021 series concluded last night (April 14), with Tom Rhodes crowned as the most recent winner of the BBC series.

Many MasterChef fans were left hanging in suspense over the result, given the fact the final was originally meant to air on Friday, 9 April but was postponed in the wake of Prince Phillip's death.

If you missed the grand finale you can watch it on the iPlayer after it has aired.

    Source: Read Full Article