Star Wars timeline explained – Phantom Menace to Rise of Skywalker

Star Wars: Disney releases new Andor trailer

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Episode I: The Phantom Menace (32 BBY – Before the Battle of Yavin)
The Star Wars prequel trilogy kicks off with a young Obi-Wan being mentored by Jedi Master Qui-Gon Jinn and seeking out the boy Anakin Skywalker, the future Darth Vader.

Episode II: Attack of the Clones (22 BBY)
Jump forward a decade and Anakin is a young man being trained by Obi-Wan in the run-up to the Clone Wars. The future Darth Vader falls in love with Padmé and marries her in secret. 

The Clone Wars (after Episode II and through Episode III)
The animated series tells the tales of what happened in the three years between the prequel movies’ conflict and introduces Ahsoka, Anakin’s padawan.

Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (19 BBY)
Anakin is manipulated by Chancellor Palpatine who is really Sith sleeper agent Darth Sidious. The villain turns the Republic into a Galactic Empire and issues Order 66 to slaughter the Jedi. Anakin, now Darth Vader, is defeated in a duel by Obi-Wan Kenobi and saved from death by being put in his iconic Sith suit. Padmé dies giving birth to twins Luke and Leia.

The Bad Batch (after Episode III)
The animated spin-off of The Clone Wars following a group of clone troopers with genetic mutations begins at Order 66.

Solo: A Star Wars Story (13-10 BBY)
The adventures of young Han Solo take place during the Empire’s rule, over a decade before the events of the original Star Wars movie.

Obi-Wan Kenobi (9 BBY)
The Disney+ miniseries sees an older Obi-Wan living as a hermit before he discovers that Anakin survived their duel in Revenge of the Sith. The pair have another lightsaber battle and the Jedi becomes the man he is in A New Hope.

Star Wars Rebels (5 BBY-0 BBY)
The animated show follows the Empire hunting down the last of the Jedi in the run-up to A New Hope.

Andor (5 BBY-0 BBY)
The new Disney+ show follows Cassian Andor becoming a rebel spy in the run-up to Rogue One

Rogue One (0 BBY)
A team of rebels successfully manage to obtain the Death Star plans for its destruction but die sacrificially in the mission.

Episode IV: A New Hope (0 BBY)
The events of the original Star Wars movie take place with Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia and Han Solo. Obi-Wan Kenobi becomes one with the Force after a final duel with Darth Vader and the Death Star is destroyed.

Andor – Ewan McGregor’s Obi-Wan Kenobi ‘is in the new Star Wars show’ [OBI-WAN]

George Lucas was ‘very upset’ making Star Wars ‘It’s not good enough’ [GEORGE LUCAS]
Darth Vader ‘back for more Star Wars’ after Hayden Christensen return [DARTH VADER]

Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (3 ABY)
Luke is trained by Yoda and Darth Vader reveals he is the young Jedi’s father.

Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (4 ABY)
Darth Vader is redeemed before his death, killing Palpatine and the Empire is defeated by the Rebellion

The Mandalorian, The Book of Boba Fett and Ahsoka (9 ABY)
The Disney+ Western adventures and spin-offs with Grogu and the gang take place five years after the end of the Star Wars original trilogy.

Star Wars Resistance (34 ABY-35 ABY)
The animated show is set before and during the sequel trilogy, following a young New Republic pilot who becomes a Resistance spy.

Episode VII: The Force Awakens  (34 ABY)
A young scavenger called Rey teams up with Han Solo and others to face the First Order and the evil Kylo Ren, who kills his father.

Episode VIII: The Last Jedi (34 ABY)
A reluctant hermit Luke Skywalker trains Rey in the ways of the Force and Kylo Run slaughters Supreme Leader Snoke. Luke becomes one with the Force.

Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker (35 ABY)
It turns out Snoke was a puppet of a resurrection Palpatine all along and is defeated by Rey, who was his granddaughter. Kylo Ren and Leia die.

Source: Read Full Article